Lise Pace reflects on the holidays and her current projects in this Office of Faith Based and Community Initiatives January blog

The holidays were better than I thought which I didn’t expect because of losing my father this year.  Of course there was emptiness but, for whatever reason, Christmas was not as difficult as Thanksgiving,  I was extremely grateful to spend the holidays with my son who was home from IU and my husband, both of whom bring me a great deal of joy.

It has taken a few days to get back into the groove after returning to work from the holidays, but I have a lot of great projects I am working on the keep me energized.  I am currently coordinating Bosma Enterprises’ corporate volunteers to participate in Super Scares, an initiative by the 2012 Super Bowl Committee to give all 8,000 of the volunteers participating in the event a scarf to wear as part of their uniform. We will be holding classes over the next several weeks for employees, both who have sight and people who are blind or visually impaired, to learn how to knit or crochet.  I am estimating that between our new scarf-makers and the people here who already know how to knit or crochet, we should be able to donate about 25 scarves.

Another activity I am working on is putting together a statewide volunteer Speaker’s Bureau.  People who are blind or visually impaired in certain areas of the State are underserved.  We want to get the word out that there are a tremendous amount of services Bosma Enterprises can provide to people who have lost or are losing their vision.  Once recruited, our statewide volunteers will assist in this effort.  Training for people who are blind or visually impaired makes the difference between being independent or not—it is exciting to think that soon we will reach people and empower them.

The other really exciting project I am helping out with is serving on the nominating committee for the Community Mentoring category of the Inspire Awards. If you are interested in nominating someone, you can do so at www.collegementors.org/inspire..

Leave a Reply

